Brahmanbaria UP election: Voting begins in 15 unions

In the fourth phase of the Union Parishad (UP) election, voting began in 15 unions in Brahmanbaria district’s Akhaura and Bijoynagar Upazilas.

At 8:00 am today, voting began in 152 centers at the same time. Most polling centers were packed with voters waiting in long lines.

Md Zillur Rahman, district election officer, told our Brahmanbaria correspondent that 84 people are running for chairman posts in 15 unions, while 507 are running for general member posts. A total of 154 candidates are running for the position of reserved woman member.

A total of 2,71,702 voters from 15 unions will cast their votes today.