All types of trains to run from Thursday

All types of trains, including intercity and local trains, which were closed due to strict lockdown, will resume its’ full operation on Thursday. Besides, the Demu train will also resume operations.
This information has been obtained from railway sources.

According to the source, 36 pairs of intercity trains started operating from August 11 due to the relaxation of restrictions. Another 12 pairs of intercity trains will start running from Thursday.

20 pairs of commuters and other local trains started running from August 11. From Thursday, 24 more pairs of commuter, local and Demu trains will start running along with these trains.

The directive, signed by Rezaul Haque, Deputy Director (Operations) of Railway Transportation Branch, on Tuesday, said “nine local trains would be closed for the time being”.

The nine trains – Jalalabad Express on the Chattogram-Sylhet route, Isakhan Express on the Dhaka-Mymensingh route, Kushiyara Express on Akhaura-Sylhet route, Laksam Commuter on Chandpur-Laksam route, Noakhali Commuter on Laksam-Noakhali route, local trains of Chattogram-Dohazari, Mymensingh-Dewanganj, Mymensingh-Bhairab Bazar and Sylhet-Chhatak – would be closed, the directive said.

Railway Assistant Transport Officer (Dhaka Division) Aminul Haque Jewel has confirmed the resume of all intercity and local trains from Thursday.